LibGuides: Finding Databases College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies: Music

Databases for Music

The Library has access to several databases relevant to Music, including.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Dictionary of Music This link opens in a new window For the sixth edition of this classic dictionary, the text has been thoroughly revised and updated. With over 10,000 entries, the Oxford Dictionary of Music (previously the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music) offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history
Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window Classical Music from Alexander Street supports the teaching and research of classical music with coverage of all major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas and the avant-garde
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music & Literature This link opens in a new window British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. The collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art[s] world and includes manuscripts and musical compositions as well as documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
MET Opera On Demand This link opens in a new window
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It includes over 570,000 records on traditional music, popular music, and classical music, representing disciplines that include musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, sociology and others. RILM covers all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more. Over 33,000 new records are added every year.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge University Press This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition™ contains a wealth of essential material for learning in a single, easily-searched database, providing invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and cross-disciplinary work.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities arts and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to the world’s leading citation databases with multidisciplinary information from over 12000 high impact journals and over 160000 conference proceedings from around the world. Includes powerful cited reference searching the Analyze Tool over 100 years of comprehensive backfile and citation data.

Free Databases:

American Musicological Society - Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
RISM - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales - aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide.
RISM Ireland - RISM Ireland is working to undertake the systematic cataloguing of musical sources in Ireland, both north and south. Religious and secular manuscript and printed music up to the twentieth century, music librettos and books about music are central to the project, as is the issuing of RISM sigla to previously unidentified music repositories. Sources may be either public or private but must be accessible to bona fide researchers: totally private repositories are therefore excluded from the project.

More databases relevant to Music are available here.

Finding Databases College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies

Who Can Help?

Contact the

Academic Skills Team

Databases for Music

Free Databases:

Library

CONTACT

Connect