LibGuides: Finding Databases College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies: French

Databases for French

The library provides access to several databases relevant to French, including:

CAIRN This link opens in a new window Provides tables of contents abstracts and some fulltext for journals in the following subject areas: economics geography history literature & language philosophy psychology politics sociology & society sport & society etc. It also covers 8 magazines including Le Monde Diplomatique.
Frantext This link opens in a new window FRANTEXT is a French-language database which consists of about 4250 French texts spanning from the medieval period to the present day. It provides access to a wide range of literary philosophical technical and scientific works and has recently been enriched with a corpus of autobiographical texts which will interest historians and sociologists as well as literary researchers. Specific words lists regular expressions etc. can be located in an individual work or corpus. The database is developed and maintained by the ATILF-CNRS (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française - Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and it is constantly updated.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window LION contains over 355000 works of English and American poetry drama and prose 389 fulltext literature journals and other key criticism and reference resources. Note: LION also cross-searches MLA International Bibliography.
Modern Languages Association International Bibliography (MLA) This link opens in a new window Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Nexis - Newspapers & Business This link opens in a new window
Persee This link opens in a new window PERSEE is a portal with online access to back runs of French journals in the social and human sciences. It consists of full-text research journals published in France. Articles and search language in French, Subject matter includes political science, history, economics, archaeology, psychology
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities arts and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
Translation Studies Bibliography This link opens in a new window An annotated bibliography of the vast field of translation and interpreting studies. It contains over 24000 citations including journal articles monographs (articles from) collective volumes reviews reference materials dissertations and unpublished manuscripts. Coverage is from 1994 onwards.

More databases for French are available here.

Databases Explained

Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.

How to Access Databases

It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.

Searching within a Database

When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:

subject heading or keyword
title
author
journal name

Getting to the full-text

There are two main kinds of database:

Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check using if the library has access to the journal article
Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results

Finding Databases College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies

Who Can Help?

Contact the

Academic Skills Team

Databases for French

Databases Explained

How to Access Databases

Library

CONTACT

Connect