LibGuides: Finding Databases College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies: Education

Education Databases

The library provides access to several databases relevant to Education, including:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window This database is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.
Australian Education Index This link opens in a new window The Australian Education Index provides a sophisticated subscription database consisting of documents relating to educational research, policy and practice.Relevant to a wide range of people interested in education: schools and universities, as well as the researcher, AEI is a specialist database produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research.
British Education Index This link opens in a new window British Education Index (BEI) is the database equivalent of the printed British Education Index (BEI) and the microfiche British Education Theses Index (BETI). BEI contains the subject descriptions of, and bibliographic references to, significant journal literature relating to education and the teaching of curricular subjects; BETI similarly indexes thesis literature. The database covers all aspects and fields of education from preschool to adult and higher education, normally qualified by age or educational levels. The range of interest within indexed journals results in broad subject and geographical coverage.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window Education Full Text™ provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of over 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic, and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
Encyclopedia of Language and Education This link opens in a new window This encyclopedia provides global coverage of the newest developments essential to the field of language and education. There is a special emphasis on multicultural and bilingual education. It includes new volumes on language socialization and the ecology of language.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition™ contains a wealth of essential material for learning in a single, easily-searched database, providing invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and cross-disciplinary work.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals in Business Humanities Social Sciences and Science Technology and Medicine.
SAGE Knowledge Video: Education 2020 This link opens in a new window The premier social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press book, reference, and video content. https://sk.sagepub.com/
SCOPUS - Version 4 (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus a multidisciplinary database includes abstracts from more than 21000 peer-reviewed journals with an emphasis on science technology and medicine and links to the fulltext. Scopus also provides citation searching linking and tracking. Scopus has changed how users access it off-campus. To register go here: http://www.library.nuigalway.ie/media/jameshardimanlibrary/Scopus%20Instructions.pdf
Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis Online is the journal content platform for the Taylor & Francis Group. The platform gives online access to all journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, and an extensive program of digitization means we have articles going back over 200 years.
Teacher reference center This link opens in a new window The Teacher Reference Center (TRC) database provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals in the area of education, 96% of which are peer-reviewed.
Teachers TV from Education in Video This link opens in a new window This is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion the collection will contain more than 3800 video titles totalling 1300 hours of teaching demonstrations lectures documentaries and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty students and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available. This release now provides 3530 titles equalling approximately 840 hours.

More databases for Education available here.

Databases Explained

Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.

How to Access Databases

It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.

Searching within a Database

When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:

subject heading or keyword
title
author
journal name

Getting to the full-text

There are two main kinds of database:

Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check using if the library has access to the journal article
Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results

Finding Databases College of Arts, Social Sciences and Celtic Studies

Education Databases

Databases Explained

How to Access Databases

Who Can Help?

Contact the

Academic Skills Team

Library

CONTACT

Connect