Academic journals are periodicals that publish articles focused on specific fields of study. Also known as scholarly, scientific, or peer-reviewed journals, they are highly valued sources of credible information and are excellent resources to use in your assessments.
Articles in academic journals are usually peer-reviewed meaning they go through a rigorous reviewing process before they are published where the work of researchers is scrutinised and validated by others in their discipline. Due to this process, academic journal articles are regarded as being more credible than articles from popular or trade journals and magazines.
There are a couple of ways to search for journal articles: through the library catalogue, through Library databases, or through Google Scholar:
When using the Library Catalogue to search for journal articles, you can use either the simple search or the advanced search.
1. Conduct a general search for a journal name, article title or subject terms. 
2. On the results page, use the ‘Tweak my results’ filters on the right to narrow your search to journals or articles (e.g. peer-reviewed journals or articles). 
Tip: Explore more filters under the ‘Tweak my results’ to narrow your results further. For example, set a Creation Date range to look for the most recent sources or check out the Topic filter for inspiration of further subject terms to use when researching your topic.
The Advanced Search enables you to apply filters when initially conducting your search.
1. Go to the Library Catalogue and select the ‘Advanced Search’ option
. 
2. In the ‘Advanced Search’ box enter your search terms and select a ‘Material
Type’ such as journals or articles – then select 'search'. 
Tip: On the results page, you can use the ‘Tweak my results’ on the right the same as in the Simple Search.
Library databases are online collections of resources such as journal articles, conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or review they are a key resource to use.
Databases are a great way to find journal articles on a particular topic. The most relevant databases for Hotel Management are highlighted in the sections below.
You can access any of the Library databases in the following ways:
When you are searching in a database for journal articles you search keywords, the title, author, or journal name.
Tip: To learn more about how to use a particular database, most databases will have online tutorials, usually in video format, to teach you how to get the best out of the resource.
Law uses a broad range of databases to supplement and, where appropriate, replace printed materials. The legal databases broadly offer access to caselaw, journals, and legislation.
Tip: Depending on the publishers, these databases focus on Irish, UK, or International Sources. It is only through practice and experience that you will get used to the different content and facilities they provide.
Access a full list of the Library's databases here - A-Z Databases.
On the Google Scholar results page, if a journal article is available in the Library's collection, there will be a link to the article as illustrated below. Set up your Google Scholar account to display these links: Click the 'hamburger' > Settings > Library links > Search for Galway and tick the relevant boxes for University of Galway (formerly NUI Galway).
You can also add the Google Scholar button to your browser for quick and easy access. Simply search for 'Google Scholar Button' and follow the instructions to add the extension to your browser.
For more details about using Google Scholar see the Finding Databases Guide.
The Library proactively supports and enhances the learning, teaching, and research activities of the University. The Library acts as a catalyst for your success as University of Galway’s hub for scholarly information discovery, sharing, and publication.
Library
University of Galway
University Road,
Galway, Ireland
T. +353 91 493399
