Skip to Main Content

Hotel Management

Industry Information

Over the duration of your course you may be required to find industry information. The following outlines recommended magazine literature including industry magazines, industry news, business news, websites, and company reports and profiles.

  • HOTSTATS Hospitality Intelligence - A benchmarking platform providing KPIs for the hotel industry. Contact Shannon College Library for access.
  • STR Reports - STR provides premium data benchmarking, analytics and marketplace insights. The reports are released weekly to industry subscribers, though Shannon College students can contact Gwen or Cory to request sample industry reports. 
    • STR reports show the financial performance of an asset (Occupancy levels, ADR, RevPAR) for the global hospitality sector. The STR report is a benchmarking tool that relies on data submitted by hotels themselves. Hoteliers are required to submit performance data on a weekly basis which is collated by STR into an industry report. Hoteliers then receive a weekly report that they can use to compare their hotel performance against a selected competititive set of hotels (competitors based on location, amenities, target market and price).
  • The Crowe Horwath Ireland Annual Hotel Industry Survey
    • These annual reviews are published in print only and are available from the information desk.

There are general reference databases on the EBSCOhost platform are useful. The main ones for general magazines like Time, The Economist, and BusinessWeek are as follows:

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition™:
Contains a wealth of essential material for learning in a single, easily-searched database, providing invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and cross-disciplinary work.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega:
Comprehensive current events coverage and curriculum support.
UK & Ireland Reference Centre:
The UK & Ireland Reference Centre combines British & Irish sources (magazines newspapers and reference books) with international sources to create the most complete collection of full-text research publications for UK/Irish public libraries. Magazine coverage includes full text of publications such as New Statesman PC Magazine National Geographic and many more. Newspaper coverage includes full text of publications such as The Times (London) The Sun The Daily Mail The Birmingham Post Irish Times etc. In addition this database provides thousands of photos maps and flags.

The following database are useful for industry magazine articles and content from around the world:

Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition™:
Contains a wealth of essential material for learning in a single, easily-searched database, providing invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and cross-disciplinary work.

The Library has current issues of the following magazines located behind the information desk: 

Skift Pro (including Daily Lodging Reports):
Multiple research reports published every month plus access to library of over 250+ past reports; Real-time measures of global travel performance; Proprietary hotel tech benchmarks plus access to the Ask Skift AI chatbot to help you locate the content you need.
Mintel:
Offers research reports covering Ireland. The reports analyse market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.
Passport:
Passport from Euromonitor International provides market information on industries countries and consumers. Market share size and lifestyle data as well as some company profiles are provided. Demographic economic and other country statistics provided make it a useful tool for economic analysis. Its software facilitates graphing and comparative analysis.
Nexis:
Contains full-text news and business information, including same-day news from wire services (Associated Press, Reuters, Agence France-Presse, Xinhua) and major metropolitan newspapers. Carries the New York Times, Washington Post, L.A. Times, Business Week, Fortune and the Economist; national network and regional television broadcast transcripts, Cable News Network and National Public Radio news and features.
Irish Newspaper Archive:
Is an online archive of Irish newspapers comprising of over 2 million pages of Irish news history. This archive consists of continuous news publications from 1763 up to the current month. Papers included are the Freemans Journal, Irish Independent, Sunday Independent, Farmers Journal, Connacht Tribune, Connaught Telegraph, Letirim Observer, Meath Chronicle, Tuam Herald and the Anglo-Celt.
Fame:
Contains detailed information on companies in the Republic of Ireland and the UK.
Business Source Complete:
Provides bibliographic and full text content in business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

If you would like to keep up with developments in your industry, sign up to these free titles and get industry news by email:

  • Hospitality Ireland is the country's leading digital magazine dedicated to the food service and on-trade drinks industry. Publishing the latest sector news, trends and insights, it's also a key digital marketing platform for companies to promote their products and services to prospective industry clients in Ireland.
  • Hotel and Catering Review
    • Join over 10,000 other hospitality professionals subscribed to the weekly Hotel and Catering Review and receive this content about news and events in the Irish catering and hospitality Industry.
  • Hotel & Restaurant Times
    • Ireland's longest running and leading magazine for the hospitality industry. Sign-up option at the bottom of the page
  • Fáilte Ireland Business Supports newsletter
    • Fáilte Ireland's top priority is supporting Ireland's tourism and hospitality businesses to survive. It offers an extensive range of business supports to guide hospitality business operators.
  • Crowe Insights
    • Crowe is a leading accountancy and business advisory firm that publishes the Ireland Annual Hotel Industry Survey. Sign up for email updates at the bottom of this webpage.

    • Below are free international business news sites:

    Below are Irish newspapers available through the library catalogue:

    • Fáilte Ireland - Research - Up-to-date research on Ireland's tourism industry.
    • TourismIreland.com - Tourism Ireland is responsible for marketing the island of Ireland overseas as a leading holiday destination. This is Tourism Ireland's corporate website.
    • Savills Ireland - Hotels - Commerial property sales including insights on hotel properties in Ireland.
    • CBRE - Sale and valuation of hotels and licensed premises, and commercial property market insights
    • HVS - HVS provides thousands of articles on all aspects of hospitality, including hotel valuations, investing, lending, operations, asset management, and more.
    • Central Statistics Office - A useful source for population data relating to Ireland.
    • Government of Ireland publications - Find government publications such as reports, press releases, National development plans.