Skip to Main Content

Hotel Management

Journal Articles

Academic journals are periodicals that contain articles written for a particular field of study. They can also be referred to as scholarly, scientific or peer reviewed journals. Academic journals are important sources of information and are great sources to use in your assessments.

Articles in academic journals are usually peer-reviewed meaning they go through a rigorous reviewing process before they are published where the work of researchers is scrutinised and validated by others in their discipline. Due to this process, academic journal articles are regarded as being more credible than articles from popular or trade journals and magazines.

How to Access Journal Articles through:

Use the search box below to search for articles through the University Library Catalogue:

  • Conduct a simple search for a journal name, article title or subject terms
  • On the results page, use the 'Tweak my results' filters on the right to filter to journals or articles - for example, peer-reviewed journals or articles

 

You can also use the 'Advanced Search' option to filter your results to journals and articles as follows:

  1. Go to the Library Catalogue and select the 'Advanced Search' option
  2. Enter your search terms and select a 'Material Type' (e.g. journals or articles)

Below are step-by-step instructions with screenshots for using the Library Catalogue to search for journal articles:

You may want to search for journal articles within a specific journal. To do so, you will need to locate the specific journal. You can search for a specific journal as follows:

  1. Select the 'E-Journal Search' option at the top of the Library Catalogue page
  2. Search for the journal name in the A-Z list of journals and select the name
  3. Select the database link under the Online resource heading - this will take you to the database where the journal is held

Below are step-by-step instructions with screenshots for searching for a specific journal:

What are Databases?

Library databases are online collections of resources such as journal articles, conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or review they are a key resource to use.

Databases are a great way to access journal articles on a particular topic and can be searched through individually. A number of the most relevant databases for Hotel Management Studies are highlighted in the sections below.

You can access any of the Library databases in the following ways:

  • Library Catalogue – Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link at the top of the search results page.
  • A-Z Databases List – You can find a full list of the library’s databases on the library website.
  • Library Guides – Many of the library guides outline databases most relevant to a subject or course. On this guide we have outlined the relevant databases for Hotel Management.

When you are searching in a database for journal articles you can do so by using subject headings or keywords, the title, author or journal name.

TIP: To learn more about how to use a particular database, most databases will have online tutorials, usually in video format, to teach you how to get the best out of the resource.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.

Business Source Complete
Provides bibliographic and full text content in business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

Emerald Insight
Provides access to the full-text of a range of titles relating to management, marketing and information science.

SAGE Journals Online
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals in Business Humanities Social Sciences and Science Technology and Medicine.

Taylor & Francis
Provides online access to all journals published by Taylor & Francis and Routledge, and an extensive program of digitization means we have articles going back over 200 years.
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition™ (H.W. Wilson):
Contains a wealth of essential material for learning in a single, easily-searched database, providing invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and cross-disciplinary work.
Scopus:
Is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Web of Science:
The ISI Web of Knowledge hosts the Web of Science BIOSIS Previews (1980-2009) & Medline. It also hosts Scientific WebPlus search engine and several of ISI's analytical tools. These include: Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators.

Wiley Online Library:
Provides full-text access to journals (1500) books and databases published by Wiley covering various disciplines.

Law uses a broad range of databases to supplement and where appropriate replace printed materials.

The legal databases broadly offer access to:

  • caselaw
  • journals
  • legislation

The most popular Law databases are:

Westlaw IE:
Is our main Irish Law database containing caselaw journals and legislation.
Justis:
This caselaw database contains the Irish Reports from 1839-. It contains the (UK)Law Reports (the Appeals Cases, Kings/Queens Bench, Chancery, Probate/Family) from 1865-. The European Court of Justice reports are also available. Funded by IREL.
Westlaw (UK & International):
Provides superb access to UK European and International Law. All the main UK law reports are covered including European Court of Justice and European Court of Human Rights. 100s of journals available in UK and International Law. Limited Irish coverage except for Legal Journals Index.
Lexis Butterworths:
Is the Law Interface for LexisNexis Professional. Contains case reports journals legal citators from Ireland UK European Union and around the world. Use the browse tab to search for particular resources such as Irish Reports international journals etc.
Hein-On-Line:
A comprehensive collection of over 900 legal research journals. Also includes World Trials Library and Foreign and Foreign & International Law Resources Database.
Oxford Bibliographies International Law:
Provides faculty and students alike with a seamless pathway to the most accurate and reliable resources for a variety of academic topics. Every article in this database is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, written and reviewed by academic experts, with original commentary and annotations.

TIP: Depending on the publishers these databases will focus on Irish or UK or International Sources. It is only through practice and experience that you will get used to the different content and facilities that the databases provide.

Further Law Resources

 

Access a full-list of the Library's databases here - A-Z Databases.

You can also access academic journal articles through Google Scholar - try the search box below:

 

Access Articles Available in the Library Collection

On the Google Scholar results page, if a journal article is available in the Library's collection, there will be a link to the article as illustrated below:

Google Scholar Button

You can add the Google Scholar button to your browser for quick and easy access. Simply search for 'Google Scholar Button' and follow the instructions to add the extension to your browser.

For more details about using Google Scholar see the Finding Databases Guide.

Recommended Journals:

To help you get started finding journal articles regarding Hotel Management, below outlines recommended journal names.