The Legislation collection of the James Hardiman Library is available to all NUI Galway students and staff. We hold and/or provide access to Irish, UK, European legislation.
The print legislation collection is located on the podium floor of the Library and is accessible during Library opening times. Print legislation volumes may not be borrowed.
Online legislation is available via a number of specialist websites and law databases on the Library website.
If you have queries about legislation please get in touch with the Law Information office using the details provided above.
The sections below explain our legislation collection in more detail:
Nothern Ireland Statutes are available from 1926-2002 in print in the Library. Recent acts including statutory rules are available on the OPSI site.
The EurLexdatabase is the main source for EU directives and regulations. WestlawUK is also an excellent resource. The Official Journal (L&C) in print from 1958-2006 is located in the EDC Collection based on the podium floor of the James Hardiman Library.
WorldLII's International Treaties Collection
Contains the full texts of over 60,000 treaties (30,000+ from the United Nations collection). They are both multilateral and bilateral from many sources, and from multiple Legal information initiatives (LIIs) from around the world.
Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 and Additional Protocols of 8 June 1977:ratifications, accessions and successions (International Humanitarian Law) at the International Committee of the Red Cross. See also the ICRC new customary IHL database . (This is the online version of the 2005 study entitled Customary International Humanitarian Law).
United Nations Treaty Collection Database
Contains the text of international agreements registered with the United Nations and information on the status of the registered treaties
Human Rights Treaties at the University of Minnesota
The University of Minnesota Human Rights Library provides access to one of the largest collections of online human rights materials, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments.
The Library proactively supports and enhances the learning, teaching, and research activities of the University. The Library acts as a catalyst for your success as University of Galway’s hub for scholarly information discovery, sharing, and publication.