LibGuides: Finding Databases College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences: Medicine

Medical Databases

The library provides access to several databases relevant to Medicine, including:

CINAHL This link opens in a new window CINAHL includes the following subjects: nursing, midwifery, podiatry, occupational therapy, speech and language therapy, health promotion and other health related subjects. Content includes journals, books, conferences proceedings, dissertations, standards of practice and educational software
The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is a full-text evidence-based clinical resource designed to assist with diagnosis and treatment. Information is presented in the form of topic reviews each one addressing a particular clinical issue.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Embase This link opens in a new window Embase is a comprehensive pharmacological and biomedical database containing journals, conferences, in-depth drug indexing, drug and disease information and regulatory requirements. In Embase you can search for a drug by any name that you know because drugs are indexed by chemical names, trade names, and laboratory/research codes that are mapped to generic names. It includes more than 30,000 drugs and chemicals.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3900 journals published world-wide.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948.

See this comparison of PubMed, Medline, and Embase: What's the difference between PubMed, Medline and Embase?

More databases for Medicine are available here.

How to Access Databases

It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue. Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results. Remember to log in for full access.

When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:

subject heading or keyword
title
author
journal name

Getting to the full-text

All databases will provide you with citations of articles relevant to your search, i.e. author name, article title, journal title, year, volume and page numbers. Many will also provide you with an abstract or short summary of the article, to help you ascertain how relevant it is going to be.

If the full-text is not immediately available you may see an SFX symbol

Simply click on the SFX icon and choose the relevant option from the menu that appears.

Finding Databases College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

Who Can Help?

Contact the

Academic Skills Team

Medical Databases

How to Access Databases

Library

CONTACT

Connect