LibGuides: Finding Databases College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences: Health Sciences

Health Sciences Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window CINAHL includes the following subjects: nursing, midwifery, podiatry, occupational therapy, speech and language therapy, health promotion and other health related subjects. Content includes journals, books, conferences proceedings, dissertations, standards of practice and educational software
The Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled
SCOPUS - Version 4 (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus a multidisciplinary database includes abstracts from more than 21000 peer-reviewed journals with an emphasis on science technology and medicine and links to the fulltext. Scopus also provides citation searching linking and tracking. Scopus has changed how users access it off-campus. To register go here: http://www.library.nuigalway.ie/media/jameshardimanlibrary/Scopus%20Instructions.pdf
UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is a full-text evidence-based clinical resource designed to assist with diagnosis and treatment. Information is presented in the form of topic reviews each one addressing a particular clinical issue.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Embase This link opens in a new window Embase is a comprehensive pharmacological and biomedical database containing journals, conferences, in-depth drug indexing, drug and disease information and regulatory requirements. In Embase you can search for a drug by any name that you know because drugs are indexed by chemical names, trade names, and laboratory/research codes that are mapped to generic names. It includes more than 30,000 drugs and chemicals.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 3900 journals published world-wide.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed covers medicine nursing and related health science subjects. It includes life science and biomedical sciences and it provided by the US National Library of Medicine.
Social Care Online This link opens in a new window The UK’s largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work.

See this comparison of PubMed, Medline, and Embase: What's the difference between PubMed, Medline and Embase?

More databases for Health Sciences are available here.

Finding Databases College of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

Who Can Help?

Contact the

Academic Skills Team

Health Sciences Databases

Library

CONTACT

Connect