Books are shelved in Dewey number (Call Number) order. To find the book you need on the shelves take note of its Print Location and Call Number. You will find this information on the Library catalogue.
Books are shelved at one or more of the locations listed below:
Books available on open access in the James Hardiman Library.
Due to a limited amount on space on the main floors of the library some items are held in the basement. This area is called closed access basement and is restricted to access by library staff only.
If the item you want to borrow shows a location of Closed Access Basement then you can request an item from Closed Access Basement be brought from the basement so that you can borrow it.
When a title is heavily in demand we put at least one copy in the High Use Books machine. Books in this machine can be borrowed for 3 hours only and cannot be taken from the library. The machine is located in the library foyer on the ground floor.
To use the machine follow the instructions on the touch screen to take out a book and be sure to return it within 3 hours to the same machine!
For information about access to Special Collections books go to Special Collections.
Books available on Open Access in the Medical Library. The Medical Library is located at the ground floor of the Clinical Science Institute at University College Hospital Galway.
Books available on Open Access in the Nursing and Midwifery Library. The entrance to it is the end of the Ground Floor of the James Hardiman Library.
Books available on Open Access, Floor 1, James Hardiman Library. This collection includes popular fiction and non-fiction.
This collection is available in the Nursing & Midwifery Library. It was developed in consultation with Student Services and the Student Counselling Service and consists of clinically approved books, e-books and other resources that support the physical and mental well-being of students and staff. Browse the Read Well for Mental Health Guide recommended by NUI Galway Student Counselling Service.
Books held in the Library Basement. This collection includes one copy of books published by NUI Galway staff and is not loanable. Loanable copies are available in the Main Library Open Access. A selection of Staff Publications are on display in the Library Foyer. Email Neil O’Brien, Acquisitions Librarian, with details of books to be added to this collection.
Books are available on Open Access in Shannon College Library though copies of prescribed reading list texts are also held in the High Use Collection. The Library is located on the upper floor of the main building at Shannon College of Hotel Management which is situated on the campus of Shannon International Airport.
The Library proactively supports and enhances the learning, teaching, and research activities of the University. The Library acts as a catalyst for your success as University of Galway’s hub for scholarly information discovery, sharing, and publication.
Library
University of Galway
University Road,
Galway, Ireland
T. +353 91 493399
