Library Events and Training

Recordings of database webinars presented by vendors, with the most recent events at the top of the page.

Introduction to Ovid – Searching the Databases  - 20 November 2024

The recording is available here.

 See also copy of slides below.

Note: there are some practice exercises on slide 27

Advanced Searching on Ovid – Focus on Systematic Reviews   - 4 December 2024

The recording is available here

Presenter:

Michael Fanning

Training Manager

Health Learning, Research & Practice

Wolters Kluwer

Webinar presented by Susan Watson of Elsevier, November 2024

Discover relevant information with a few clicks – Engineering Village

Recording

Please see below the link and passcode to the recording.

https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/oJXp9LiynqzdwBtMYcVNjMJFBP_JB-z6mamMsNajQFPJbd9QrgviJQFAvENbDt_B.2sYWZjA_3nJ818Ho  

Passcode: 9HJa$MPw

See also this section of the  Compendex libguide: https://libguides.library.universityofgthe alway.ie/Compendex/TrainingSupport to view Advanced session presented in December 2021.

The University of Galway have access to a wide range of databases via Proquest, including ProQuest Dissertations & Theses  and databases across all subject areas including Education Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, History, Film and Media Studies, Literature, News and Newspapers.

Here is the link to the session recording of the webinar presented by Louisa Vickers-Mills from Proquest:

See the Proquest libguides for more information and online training.

https://proquest.libguides.com/proquestplatform

See box below also with links to webinar recordings for PQDT Proquest Theses and Dissertations database.

This year's webinar recordings for PQDT Proquest Theses and Dissertations database are in 3 parts.

Each recording is around 30 minutes.

Part 1

A Beginner's Journey with ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: https://share.vidyard.com/watch/qGt6Yx7esCQAjvkzhoSjr7?

Part 2

From Search to Success An Advanced User Guide to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: https://share.vidyard.com/watch/g2Xio1Lb6uTZJbwos8iAYQ?

Part 3

Connecting the Dots - Exploring Citation Connections in ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: https://share.vidyard.com/watch/JSrCAcSGkNe7RkZmfkqt6D?

Note: To submit your thesis directly to Proquest, visit the website ‘ ETD Dissemination Program’

https://www.etdadmin.com/

This website allows  authors to submit theses directly to ProQuest.

Web of Science Essentials Webinar October 2024

Richard Crookes from EBSCO presented this webinar 12 October 2023

The University of Galway has access to a wide range of databases via EBSCO with  databases across all subject areas including Business, Economics, Education, Health Sciences, Hospitality and Tourism, Psychology, Sociology, History, Humanities, Literature, Social Gerontology and ebooks.

Click here for a summary of  EBSCO Resources vs. Free Internet Search

The recording is  available here:

The slides are available here:

Note: Seoud Bemath from EBSCO presented a webinar October 2024 and there were technical issues. We refer instead to last year's recording.

Richard Crookes from EBSCO presented this webinar on  11 September 2024

The recording is  available below:

The slides are available here:

BIOSIS Citation Index and Zoological Record Training for University of Galway  - Researcher Workshop Series - January 2024

The recording is available here.

Note: the presentation starts at 5:45

Presenter: Rachel Mangan, Customer Success Consultant. Clarivate.

Note: see passcode for each recording in column 2..

Introduction to Ovid – Searching the Databases - Researcher Workshop Series - 16 January 2024

The recording is available here

Advanced Searching on Ovid – Focus on Systematic Reviews  - Researcher Workshop Series - 23 January 2024

The recording is available here

Presenter: Michael Fanning, Training Manager. Wolters Kluwer

Richard Crookes from EBSCO presented this webinar in December 2023.

The University of Galway have access to a wide range of databases via EBSCO with  databases across all subject areas including Business, Economics, Education, Health Sciences, Hospitality and Tourism, Psychology, Sociology, History, Humanities, Literature, Social Gerontology and ebooks.

The recording is available here:

The slides are available here:

“How to address some of researchers’ most pressing questions with Scopus” December 2023

See links below for recording, slides and user guide:

• Slide Deck & Scopus User Guides: Access Here
• Seminar Recording: Watch Here (Passcode: Scopus061223!)

From Giulia Moncelsi, Elsevier:

You can download the presentation slides in pdf at this link: https://view.highspot.com/viewer/656f3eef4522456d06cb74e3

And view the webinar recording here: https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/iUnA9ER_ryhD9Bx7mGWCH7EKiSFBK8oPr9BoN-A3o3S5F1GKpw4TDcLEdv2Eu2ay.3teY8qr-c95mQOn1

Passcode: Emb_OSC23

University of Galway have access to a wide range of databases via Proquest, including ProQuest Dissertations & Theses  and databases across all subject areas including Education Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, History, Film and Media Studies, Literature, News and Newspapers.

 Gender and Literature studies - ProQuest databases webinar training for University of Galway-20230425_110750-Meeting Recording.mp4

See also the Proquest libguides which Ali mentions at the end of the webinar:

https://proquest.libguides.com/home

There are various database bguides, including a Proquest Theses and Dissertations libguide with webinar recordings for PQDT here.

From Giulia Moncelsi, Elsevier

Thank you for joining the webinars for Reaxys and Embase, part of the 2^nd Virtual Week of the Elsevier Virtual Roadshow Series for Irish universities. The webinars have been recorded and you may access slides and recordings for all sessions directly through  the below links. 

Note: see passcode for each recording in column 4.

Introduction to ScienceDirect: More than a full text platform

Below you find the slide deck, your Certificate of attendance and further guidance: 

Please go to: https://researcheracademy.elsevier.com/workshop/eab877d1-ed81-4d6d-ac5e-fa640d8fd40b

Please let me know if you can’t access this site email m.kurschildgen@elsevier.com

Recording of the seminar:

https://elsevier.zoom.us/rec/share/YttncUnPFfPlv7y4CRnEiKVdr6x_vcrN30d-DH0VEedrxBEX-KSDHoop3uZchIfl.QFMVeDbpezR9JWN9
Access Passcode: #z1k1CKv
Please make sure you don’t copy white space accidentally when you use this passcode as this will result into an error message.

Please feel free to reach out to me if you have any further questions.