HuggingChat — an open-source alternative to ChatGPT and other LLM-based virtual assistants that endorses privacy by design. Available models: Llama 2 70B, CodeLlama 35B, Falcon 180B, Mistral 7B, Cohere Command R+, Google Gemma 7B.
ChatGPT — OpenAI’s chatbot and virtual assistant, powered by GPT models.
Copilot — Microsoft’s GPT-powered tool integrated in Office 365.
Claude 3 — Anthropic's AI system engineered for a wide range of tasks, including text-based and visual content generation.
Gemini (formerly Bard) — Google AI’s multipurpose AI tool like ChatGPT and Claude.
Perplexity AI — an AI search engine that uses large language models (LLMs) to search the web, identify trusted sources, and synthesise information into clear responses in a conversational format.
Notta — an AI-powered tool to automatically record, transcribe, translate and summarize your meetings into actionable text
Read AI — an AI copilot providing summaries, Q&A and action items generated from your Gmail, Outlook, Slack and Teams as well as virtual meeting summaries and transcriptions.
Taskade — an AI-powered productivity & automation toolkit that allows building, training, and deploying AI agents to automate research and generate dynamic to-do lists, flow charts, boards, tables, calendars, mind maps, project sprints and more.
AI Docmaker — a toolkit powered by AI for creating reports, presentations and voiceovers, as well as extracting information from PDFs in chat format.
RyterAI — a multipurpose AI toolkit for content creation (text, image, video) and document analysis.
HuggingFace Hub — a repository of open-source machine learning models and datasets with test/inference functionality.
Elicit — using large language models (LLMs), Elicit finds papers relevant to your topic by searching through papers and citations and extracting and synthesising key information. Allows uploading your own pdfs for analysis.
Consensus — similar to Elicit, Consensus uses LLMs to help researchers find and synthesise answers to research questions, focusing on the scholarly authors' findings and claims in each paper. Helps answer ‘yes’ or ‘no’ questions.
Research Rabbit — a citation-based mapping tool that focuses on the relationships between research works. It uses visualisations to help researchers find similar papers and other researchers in their field.
Connected Papers — like Research Rabbit, Connected Papers focuses on the relationships between research papers to find similar research. You can also use Connected Papers to get a visual overview of an academic field.
ChatPDF — a research assistant, reading and summarising papers similar to Elicit
Keenious — a research assistant that analyses your document, compares it to millions of scientific publications to find the most relevant research articles/topics.
Litmaps — a literature review tool that uses the citation network to discover literature that's easily overlooked with other search methods.
Semantic Scholar — a free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature, which supplies underlying data for many of the other tools on this list) provides brief summaries ('TLDR's) of the main objectives and results of papers.
Scite — a suite of products that help researchers develop their topics, find papers, and search citations in context (describing whether the article provides supporting or contrasting evidence).
SciSpace (formerly Typeset.io) — a comprehensive academic platform providing access to over 200 million research papers. It assists researchers in discovering, summarising, understanding and understanding research papers as well as writing, formatting, and publishing their own research.
Scholarcy — a tool that summarises key points and claims of articles into 'summary cards' that researchers can read, share, and annotate when compiling research on a given topic.
Coral AI — a research tool that can find information, translate, summarise and get citations from your documents in 90+ languages.
Statista Research AI — a Retrieval-Augmented Generation (RAG) system that uses semantic search and Cohere technology. It AI accesses content and datasets from the 10 most relevant sources, links them to the user query, and feeds the bundled information into our LLM (Claude 3 Sonnet). This process generates detailed responses with citations integrated directly into the text, making the narratives easy to understand and fact-check.
Perplexity — an AI-powered search and information discovery tool. Unike ChatGPT, it draws information from reliable web sources and cites them directly. It offers an “Academic Research” focus mode that specifically searches within academic databases like Semantic Scholar and PubMed.
Insight — an AI-powered medical research tool that also provides a Hypothesis Formulator tool and an Experiment Design Assistant.
Humata — an AI-powered tool that analyses PDFs, able to work with large volume of data.
Ask Your PDF — an interactive reading tool similar to Humata.
Scholar AI — an academic literature search plugin available in ChatGPT, Copilot and as an API.
ASReview — an AI-aided open-source systematic review tool.
Grammarly — an AI-powered grammar correction and writing assistance
Writefull — an academic writing assistant with plugins for Word and Overleaf; includes a TeXGPT model for generating LaTeX code.
Hivemind — an AI-powered tool that can help to plot out the best plan of action.
Paraphrasingtool.ai — an AI paraphraser that creates a new version of the existing text that means the same thing.
Scribe — an AI platform that makes documenting processes and creating standard operating procedures (SOPs) easy.
Otter.ai — an AI Meeting Assistant to transcribe meetings in real time and record audio, or transcribe audio files.
Writesonic — an AI-powered tool for text, audio and image generation.
GitHub Copilot — an AI tool that helps developers auto-complete their code in their preferred IDE (compatible with VS Code, Neovim, and JetBrains).
Google Colab Copilot — GitHub copilot implemented on Google Colab.
Codeium — a free AI powered toolkit for developers providing models and infrastructure, extension in all your IDEs, autocomplete and search. Supports 70+ languages and 40+ editors.
Pieces — a coding copilot that allows to save, enrich, search, reference, and reuse code snippets. The user can choose between different LLMs. By referencing your saved materials and interactions from throughout your workflow with Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG), Pieces Copilot gives tailored suggestions and context-generated code.
Tabnine — an AI-powered code completion tool that suggests the most suitable lines of code completion based on the context of what the developer writes.
OpenAI Codex — a GPT-3 based model that translates natural language to code. It is most capable in Python, but it is also proficient in over a dozen languages including JavaScript, Go, Perl, PHP, Ruby, Swift and TypeScript, and even Shell. Powers GitHub Copilot.
Amazon Q Developer (ex CodeWhisperer) — a tool that generates code in real-time in the IDE based on your existing code and comments, scanns for vulnerabilities in your code and provides suggestions using generative AI on how to remedy them. Supports 15 programming languages.
Figstack — an AI tool for web development, enabling you to read and write code across multiple languages. It can help to translate code between different programming languages and optimise the time complexity of your code by measuring the efficiency of your code in Big O notation, and provides suggestions on how you can improve it.
Replit Ghostwriter — an online-based IDE where developers can prototype, making use of resources available on the cloud bundled with an AI assistant called “Replit Ghostwriter”, which can provide real-time code explanations, edits and completions. Replit AI works best with JavaScript and Python code, but it supports 16 languages in total. The current list includes Bash, R, Ruby, Rust, C, C#, C++, CSS, Go, Java, JavaScript, HTML, PHP, Perl, Python, and SQL.
Snyk — a cloud-based code analysis tool that helps to locate the vulnerabilities in security and open-source license compliance issues in a developer's code.
Sourcery — an AI code reviewer who lives in your GitHub repos and offers AI code generation tools with a central focus on assisting developers to write cleaner and more efficient code. It identifies errors in real-time and helps to remove duplicate code, making your project more focused and efficient.
Infogram — a tool that helps create interactive data visualisations (charts, maps, infographics, reports etc.) with AI and share or embed them anywhere.
Piktochart — an AI-powered infographic generator that supports PDF, DOCX, and TXT upload.
GraphMaker — a tool to create graphs instantly from CSV and Google Sheets with AI.
Polymer — an AI tool that allows generating dashboards and uncovering hidden insights in your data.
Visily — an AI-powered tool for design and diagram creation (business maps, sitemaps, concept maps, design from screenshot / sketch).
Airflowchart — an AI text to flowchart generator.
Eraser — an all-in-one markdown editor, collaborative canvas, and diagram-as-code builder that allows diagram generation from schema, code snippet, infrastructure definition, plain language description or image with DiagramGPT.
InfographicNinja — an AI data visualisation generator that can build infographics out of raw text or data tables.
ChatUML — a tool for diagram creation powered by GPT-4o.
HeyGen — an AI video production assistant that allows to create and translate studio-quality videos in 175 languages. It offers a library of AI avatars and voices and has both free and subscription options.
Deep Dream Generator — a free AI art generator.
Deep AI — a free image, video and music generator.
Leonardo AI — an AI-powered tool for design and image generation with a free version and paid subscription options.
Runway AI — an AI video generation tools with a free version and paid subscription options.
AI Image Generator — a free AI image generator by Canva.
CGDream AI Image Generator — a free AI image and 3D model generator.
Microsoft Designer's Image Creator (formerly Bing Image Creator) — a free image generation tool from Microsoft.
My Vocal.AI — a free web-based app that leverages AI to clone your voice and use it for music creation, podcasting, audiobook narration, video voiceovers, and more.
Synthesia — a DeepBrain’s AI-powered tool for text-to-speech and video generation, offering AI avatar creation, with a free version and paid subscription options.
WZRD — a free music video generator that augments your audio with immersive video powered by AI.
Vidnoz AI Music Generator — a free AI toolkit, which offers a free AI music & video generator, helping you to create original melody and rhythm without any prior experience in music making.
Melobytes — a free AI toolkit capable of short movie generation, text to song conversion, image to song and video conversion, and more.
DALL-E 3 — OpenAI’s image generation model available through paid ChatGPT subscription.
Adobe Firefly — Adobe’s AI image generator available through Creative Cloud subscription.
Stable Assistant — Stability AI’s chatbot equipped with text and image generation technology featuring Stable Diffusion 3 Ultra, Stable Video, Stable Audio, Stable Image Services and Stable LM 2 12B.
Midjourney — an AI image generation model available through Discord.
AI Voiceover — an AI text-to-speech generator for video creators by Artlist featuring top voice actors.
Narakeet — a text-to-speech tool that allows creating realistic voiceovers, offering a library of 700 voices.
Rotor Videos — a professional online video service by Lyricfind that allows creating videos quickly and efficiently with no editing skills or production know-how; the videos are free to create, but you have to pay for download.
The Library proactively supports and enhances the learning, teaching, and research activities of the University. The Library acts as a catalyst for your success as University of Galway’s hub for scholarly information discovery, sharing, and publication.
Library
University of Galway
University Road,
Galway, Ireland
T. +353 91 493399
