Skip to Main Content

Literature review

This guide will help you to plan your literature review and to adopt a systematic approach to searching the literature.

Locating full text

 

  • Fulltext databases provide full-text; others link using SFX see section below
  • Search the library catalogue
  • Google Scholar or Google - search for the article title using quotation marks
  • Email the author

Link to full text from databases via SFX

  • Fulltext databases provide full-text; in other databases click on the SFX link on a reference to access fulltext:
 
 

 

Library catalogue

 

See this short tutorial on how to find journal articles in electronic format using the library catalogue:

 

Library catalogue - remember to search for the journal title also if you don't find the journal article by searching by title and author.

Problems locating full-text

NB: Search by journal title to check if library subscribes to electronic or print version of the journal

If you have problems accessing a journal to which we subscribe, please submit a ticket to our E-Resources team.

To submit a ticket:

  • Log into ServiceDesk
  • In ServiceDesk, go to 02. Library Services - Journals/Databases/Resource Issues
  • After that, the e resource enquiry form will appear, and you can enter the relevant information

 

Our e-resources team: "Having trouble accessing an e-journal or database?  With over 30,000 online journals, we can't check every one as regularly as we'd like.  So please report problems to us, so we can fix them." 

 

Other libraries

 

Note: TCD is a copyright library for UK and Ireland

Interlibrary loans

 

Use our Interlibrary loans service if you are unable to locate the publication elsewhere. 

 

Remember to check if we have the publication first! Use the Can't find it link at the top of the library catalogue search screen  to request an interlibrary loan.